Paper plane -power distance-

November 26th 16:00 JPN 27th am2:00 GRL

I think I’ll enter one of many interesting company after I graduate university. Almost all company have some role such as boss, superior authorities, and lowly employee. Last Monday, I learned the word ‘power distance’. What does high or low power distance mean, and what’s the merit and demerit of its high and low? I’ll discovery and introduce that in this blog with my own opinion and analyze of my partner country, Greenland.

First, the word ‘power distance’ means that the psychological and authority distance between high-salary, important position and low-salary position, according to my Oral English’s class. So if there is high power distance, staff or clerk have to be courteous to their boss and usually have to follow their boss’s command and ideas, but they can be helped by their boss. In contrast, low power distance company’s staff can say their ideas and thoughts even if it’s contrary to boss’s, and boss can ask some helping hands to his subordinate easily and help each other.

Now I’ll talk about my opinion. I prefer high power distance, because its rewarding to promote if there is high power distance, so I can keep my motivation to raise my status. The upper position in company of high power distance will take more responsibility than that of the company of low power distance, but maybe the salary of the company of high power distance’s boss will maybe higher than that of low power distance’s one.

By the way, how about my partner country, Greenland? ‘Hofstade Insights’ was recommended in my class but there was no information about Greenland in Hofstade Insights. But I found the world map of power distance in ‘Geert Hofstade’ attached below.

According to this map, Greenland’s society tends to be low power distance, with Hofstade index 23~40. I think this results came from Greenland’s harsh environment. They have to support each other because of its weather, becoming -70℃ in winter. I think its rational for Greenland.

Questions

  1. Which do you prefer, high power distance or low power distance?
  2. Do you want to express your ideas to your boss, if you were a low employee?
  3. If you were a boss, what types of your subordinate do you want?

References

hero_5c769fb4-4cfd-4f4b-8aa2-fc90204cc123.png

vector-paper-airplane-travel-route-260nw-664195816.jpg

PDI-world-map-50.png

CORRECTION-Greenland-Iceber.jpg

コメントを残す